Lose the tude

A wise man once said (I can’t remember if it was Bob Groeneman or Bob Gabelman) that a bad attitude can spoil anything good and a good attitude can spoil anything bad. That saying has rung true in my life dozens of times and is once again proving to be true here. You can be in the most crap situation and have a good attitude and it can totally transform. Equally you could be in Australia at a bible college where people are doing whatever it takes to see you succeed and God is trying to teach you loads and if you have a bad attitude, you will be convinced you’re in hell.

The latter situation is not as hypothetical as the former. It seems quite popular right now at college to complain about everything and pity party for weeks about the tiniest things. There are now several people who are my intake and have chosen to leave in July and not finish the year. I do not understand that at all. Their reasons don’t make sense to me. I really don’t think that God’s grace would leave you hanging halfway through the year, or that you have already learned everything God wants you to or whatever. The truth is if someone really wants to leave and go home they can come up with the most spiritual sounding answer to tell people why it is necessary for them to go home. I think the reasons life is hard for them is because they are making life so hard for themselves. They are in the same classes everyone else is in with the same teachers on the same days and yet there are people who are learning a ton. The college definitely doesn’t have everything figured out and there are a lot of areas that could be done a lot better, but nothing that makes it unbearable to be here. Your life is going to be as good as you let it be. I heard someone here say, “grass isn’t always greener on the other side, grass is greener when you water it.”

I think that there are a lot of people forgetting the process that happens before coming here. Coming to Australia isn’t an easy move for anyone, there must have been some point where they had a peace about coming and they thought it was what God was wanting them to do. I don’t know if they remember how excited they were to come here. Being here can get hard, real hard. It doesn’t mean that you’re not suppose to be here just because it’s difficult. I don’t know. There has to be some scenarios where I would think it makes sense for someone to go home. For all I know God really does want them to go home now. I don’t know. It’s hard. I know that God is trying to teach me a lot I know that I want to finish this year and that will be a lot easier if I have a good attitude about things. I also know that throughout the years it has always been easier for me to hear God’s voice when I have a good attitude. All this is something I think about a lot. A little bit of a rant, but good to write down I suppose.

2 thoughts on “Lose the tude

  1. Oh man, truer words have never been said. I made a decision a while ago to stop putting up with people who refused to help themselves. It’s been better since. The funny thing is, it wasn’t like I stopped loving them or being their friends, I just stopped participating in their bad moods and tried to help them become less stagnant. I’m no longer in touch with most of them because they abandoned me rather than the other way around. And it sucks and people will get tired of you when you stop justifying their pointless problems but it is better. And some will see that you do truly love them. I am a billion times happier than I used to be. I think it’s better not to let other people’s insecurities get in the way of God’s attempts to love them through you.

    Sorry I am ranting too. Allow me to continue.

    True that about the good attitude too. Last christmas I was a passenger in a car accident on the highway, I don’t know if you remember that. Nobody was hurt bad and we all walked away from the scene. Two of us were incredibly upset and made everything feel a thousand times worse than it was. Meanwhile, I just felt happy everyone was OK and my friend and I joked about riding in a police Charger off of the highway. In the back with the cage between the seats. It was awesome. And then I went home and played poker with my family and won 50 dollars. It was a great night. I can list about a billion other people who would’ve gone home and cried about how they almost died and all of this junk and been kinda huge babies about it. I don’t know maybe I am insensitive, but seriously dude, screw bad moods.

    Sorry I wrote a big long thingy I love you baby you’re pretty much amazing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

