Viva la spanish students

The other day I went with some one of my Brazilian friends and one of my Australian friends(Milo) who was born in Chile and has a Spanish family to a Spanish dinner. It was for all the Spanish college students, be they from Mexico or Spain or Brazil or Argentina or whatever. I’ll speak spanish with Milo sometimes and with other spanish students for practice. I was kind of nervous that people would be mad I was there, I can’t very easily pretend to be of spanish decent. It ended up to be nothing to worry about and it was funny to see people’s reactions when I would talk to them in spanish and it was really good practice. By the end of the night I was pretty much back to being able to understand everything and being able to speak fluently. So that was fun, but the point of this post is that I had the best meal I’ve had since I’ve been here. I had mexican food. Real mexican food. Although I miss fake mexican food like Taco Bell, Taco Johns and Pace Salsa; the real deal is all the more delicious. We had tacos that, for you who understand this, were very similar to Po Po’s and home-made salsa that blew my mind. I think I ended up having 4 tacos. I was so inspired by it all that yesterday I made salsa and it’s amazing! A bit hot. The recipe called for 1 jalapeno and I was like aahhh that’s sissy, so I put 3. It’s still really good, just has a little kick to it. It’s good that I know how to make it because now I can always have salsa. The only salsa they sell here is in little tiny party size jars for dipping chips, but I need bulk. I am going to have the best chicken quesadillas.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

